• J3-Cub.com is the largest community of J3-Cub pilots, owners and enthusiasts. With over 1000 active members, we have fostered a vibrant community and extensive knowledge base. J3-Cub.com hosts a library of over 13 years of technical discussions, J3 data, tutorials, plane builds, guides, technical manuals and more. J3-Cub.com also hosts an extensive library of J3-Cub photos.

Access to the J3-Cub.com community is by subscription only. Membership is only $19.99/year or $3.99/month to gain access to this community and extensive unmatched library of knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member

Whats it take for LS instuctor ?

farm-tim

Reaction score
So, I have about a thousand hours in differant types of aircraft and I'm looking for my next challenge. I am a private pilot with IFR, tail wheel, and High performance ratings.
?? What is involved in getting my Light sport instructor ratting ??
Do I start with a CFI ?
What test do I have to take ?
Check ride ?
Can I give tailwheel transition training to a Private pilot in a LSA?
Insert other stupid questions here?

Many moons ago I instructed in ultralight aircraft and really enjoyed it.

I wont be teaching ground loops, Tim

farm-tim

Reaction score
Ok i read the whole thing, and ill probably have to read it about 100 more times. So far I see 2 things that dinged me
(1)"§ 61.403(b) Be able to read, speak, write, and understand English." ;D
(2) § 61.431 Are there special provisions for obtaining a flight instructor certificate with a sport pilot rating for persons who are registered ultralight instructors with an FAA-recognized ultralight organization?
If you are a registered ultralight instructor with an FAA-recognized ultralight organization on or before September 1, 2004, and you want to apply for a flight instructor certificate with a sport pilot rating, not later than January 31, 2008— BLAH BLAH BLAH you can skip a lot of stuff DARN :(
Tim

R

Richgj3

Tim