• J3-Cub.com is the largest community of J3-Cub pilots, owners and enthusiasts. With over 1000 active members, we have fostered a vibrant community and extensive knowledge base. J3-Cub.com hosts a library of over 13 years of technical discussions, J3 data, tutorials, plane builds, guides, technical manuals and more. J3-Cub.com also hosts an extensive library of J3-Cub photos.

Access to the J3-Cub.com community is by subscription only. Membership is only $19.99/year or $3.99/month to gain access to this community and extensive unmatched library of knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member

J-3 Cub Instruction offered - San Antonio, TX

TexasTailwheel

Tailwheel CFI
Reaction score
I am an independent flight instructor working with the folks up at Boerne Stage Airfield here in the San Antonio area. We have a nice 1947 Piper Cub available for flight training and rental. We offer a nice tailwheel endorsement package, too! I am one of the instructors authorized to teach in the Cub and we have a few others if I am not available.

I am also a member of the Alamo Liaison Squadron where we have a 1939 Cub on the field that I also fly on occasion.

If you are interested in learning to fly tailwheel, or just want a ride in a Cub, the contact information is below.

Ryan Short
(210) 902-0372
[email protected]
www.texastailwheel.com

JimC

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Wasn't a student, but I've had it happen. Pushed the stick full forward too. Kept the brakes locked though. I was propping from behind and lunged for the throttle. We were in a parched cotton patch. I never saw so much dust in my life -- must have been 3" deep in the cabin by the time the engine stopped.

TexasTailwheel

Tailwheel CFI
Reaction score
Great video Ryan, I think that is the safest way to handprop a Cub!

Although I only pull it through 3 times and it starts on the 4th pull. Have you ever had a student push the throttle full during the start? That'll keep you on your toes. ;D